Dogs Being Dogs

      There comes a time in every pet owner’s life when they seriously wonder why they ever thought it was a good idea to live with an animal. I recently had such a moment with Zeke. (Well, I have to confess, I’ve had many such moments in the last ten years with Zeke.) This one followed a night where I knew some critter had found its way over the six foot fence and into the backyard. I saw it moving around underneath the birdfeeders and so had to take Zeke out on his leash so there wouldn’t be any late night fights with creatures unknown. That worked okay (we’ve done it before). The mistake came the next morning when I ignored the little voice that said “don’t let him out into the yard alone.” After all, it was daylight, the critter was gone and I didn’t see a reason for concern. A word of advice, don’t ever ignore the little voice that tells you something is a bad idea. When I let Zeke in a short time later, he was as excited as a little boy who’d been playing in the mud. But in this case, I don’t think it was mud. Obviously, our nighttime visitor had left behind a nice surprise, and Zeke, in his doggy mind, figured it would be nice to roll in it. Bad idea on his part. I marched him right back out the door and made him wait on the porch till I had the bathtub, a gazillion towels, and plastic gloves for myself ready for the odious task of giving him a bath. Needless to say, I wasn’t happy. When Zeke discovered what was in store for him so early in the morning, he wasn’t a happy camper either. I took the fun right out of his delight in rolling in something, and it sure wasn’t an enjoyable way to start out my Monday morning, especially when I needed to get ready for work. It was truly one of those moments when you wonder if being a pet-owner is all it’s cracked up to be.

            But all is well that ends well. Zeke was nice and clean and fluffy and smelled good again, and I went to work. As I said, it isn’t the first time this has happened and Zeke certainly isn’t my first dog that has needed a sudden bath. It’s just one of those things that dogs do that annoys the heck out of us humans and the dogs don’t have a clue why. Hey mom, what’s the big deal? I smell good! I know that’s what they’d say if they could talk, because they are after all dogs and what we find unpleasant (or should I just say rank) is perfume to their noses! Even the littlest dog will fall prey to this habit and the best way to avoid it is….well, I’m not sure there is a way. If you own a dog, sooner or later you will find yourself dealing with this sort of nonsense, and the only thing you can do is be prepared with plenty of dog shampoo and old towels and patience. Mix in with that a lot of forgiveness for a dog being a dog.

            For sure, though, the backyard light will stay on at night to perhaps discourage those wild critters from climbing over the fence.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Dogs Being Dogs”

  1. Diane Burton Says:

    LOL, Lucy. Been there, done that with our second dog. Bear, too, liked to roll in “stuff” only I used the garden hose. Froze my fingers at times but no way would I let him in the house. Thanks for the memory.


  2. I’ve used the hose at times, too!


Leave a Reply

