A Dog’s Thanksgiving

By Zeke Kubash

            I know I’m just a dog and most people don’t believe I think about these things, but if I could talk here is what I would tell you. This Thanksgiving I am thankful for a lot of things, but mostly I’m thankful that:

1) I have a nice home with people who love me and who put up with my doggy shenanigans.

 2) I have food every day and a warm place to sleep.

 3) I’m not in a shelter because (a) my people got sick or died or became unemployed and couldn’t care for me anymore, (b) they moved and couldn’t take me with them, (c) they got tired of me and the care I require, (d) I became old and inconvenient, (e) a new baby came into the home, (f) our home was swept away in some natural disaster and we have no place to live.

4) I have a fenced in backyard to play in to my heart’s content.

 5) I go for a walk everyday (well, almost every day).

6) I have the veterinary care that keeps me healthy.

7) I’ll get a little turkey in my dish on Thanksgiving (but not the bones!).

8) I have a sister FooFoo. (Hmm, not really too sure about that.)

9) I get to go for car rides.

10) I can bark at the world going by my window.

11) I can chase the squirrels away from the bird feeders.

12) I can sit by dad in his recliner at night and know I’m wanted.

I guess you can see that Zeke’s list is really about the simple joys that dogs (and yes, even cats) find in life, but many animals aren’t able to enjoy them. So at this holiday season, please remember those pets whose lives have been disrupted and who are in need of new homes and families to love them. A big thank you to all those who work so tirelessly to help homeless animals, and a special thanks to the ASPCA, the Humane Society of the United States, PetSmart charities, and all rescue groups who are continuing to help the animals impacted by Superstorm Sandy. Many pets were separated from their families during this disaster and without the help of these national organizations might not be able to reunite with them. I’m sure for all of them, people and pets alike, they are most thankful for just being together again.

May we all be thankful for the the simple things that are really important in life.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

5 Comments on “A Dog’s Thanksgiving”

  1. Diane Burton Says:

    What a great post. The simple things sometimes have the greatest importance. Happy Thanksgiving to you & your family.


  2. Zeke knows the important things that make him happy are often the very simple things. Wise dog!

  3. Maris Says:

    We humans could take a lesson from Zeke. Happiness is enjoying the simple things in life.


  4. Zeke speaks for so many. Rescue dogs are a special breed in themselves.


Leave a Reply

